Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Acknowledging a Shift : New User Interface

Select Shiftboard sites are currently using the new interface. If you do not yet have access to the new interface, please continue to refer to our existing Support documentation. Additionally, some designs may have been modified since this document was written. However, functionality remains the same.

Overview

When Acknowledgements are enabled in the site settings, people can accept or decline a shift assignment. Most sites that enable acknowledgments also adjust their site settings to enable calendar icons, which indicate shifts that have not yet been acknowledged, and those that have been accepted or declined.

  • Unacknowledged—A blue and white square indicates a shift that has been assigned and is waiting to be acknowledged by the assignee.
  • Assigned—A green square indicates that the person who is scheduled to work this shift has acknowledged the assignment, either by accepting or declining the shift. In cases where the shift has been declined, the status icon remains green, and Assignment declined shows up in red below the person’s name but does not change the green status icon.

Note: For a complete list of shift status icons, see Viewing the Calendar.

How to accept or decline a shift

Note: Acknowledgements must be enabled or you will not see the blue icon.

To acknowledge a shift, navigate to the calendar (Schedules > Shifts), then click on the shift that you would like to acknowledge as accepted or declined:

On the Shift Details page, click Acknowledge:

On the Acknowledge page, choose Accepted or Declined from the drop-down menu, and click Acknowledge:

Once the Acknowledge button is clicked, the shift status changes on the calendar.

If the shift was acknowledged as accepted, then the shift shows up with the person’s name, and the status icon will indicate the shift is assigned (green):

If the shift was declined, there are multiple possible actions that can occur based on the site settings:

  • If the site setting Acknowledgement Notification > Unconfirm on Acknowledge: Decline is set to No, then the person will remain assigned to the shift, and the shift will show as open on the calendar with the words Assignment declined below the person’s name.
    Note: Until this person is unassigned from the shift or the shift is assigned to someone else, it will continue to show on the calendar as being assigned to this person (see Assigning Shifts).
  • If the site setting Acknowledgement Notification > Unconfirm on Acknowledge: Decline is set to Yes (Use Standard Cancel Period), and the person is canceling before the cutoff deadline, then the person will be unassigned from the shift, and the shift will show as open on the calendar:
  • If the site setting Acknowledgement Notification > Unconfirm on Acknowledge: Decline is set to Yes (Use Standard Cancel Period), and the person declines after the cutoff deadline, then they will remain assigned to the shift, and will receive an error message.
  • If the site setting Acknowledgement Notification > Unconfirm on Acknowledge: Decline is set to Yes, then the person will be unassigned from the shift, and the shift will show as open on the calendar:

How to decline a shift after having previously accepted it

If the site setting "Members can Modify Acknowledgements after Accept/Decline:" is set to Yes, then people can decline a shift after previously accepting it. Note: the setting “Allow Acknowledge Decline” must also be set to Yes.

To change acknowledgement from accepted to declined, navigate to the calendar (Schedules > Shifts), then click on the shift that was previously accepted:

On the Shift Details page, click Update Accepted:

On the Acknowledge page, choose Declined from the drop-down menu, and click Acknowledge:

  • If the site setting Acknowledgement Notification > Unconfirm on Acknowledge: Decline is set to No, then the person will remain assigned to the shift, and the shift will show as open on the calendar with the words Assignment declined below the person’s name.
    Note: Until this person is unassigned from the shift or the shift is assigned to someone else, it will continue to show on the calendar as being assigned to this person (see Assigning Shifts).
  • If the site setting Acknowledgement Notification > Unconfirm on Acknowledge: Decline is set to Yes (Use Standard Cancel Period), and the person is canceling before the cutoff deadline, then the person will be unassigned from the shift, and the shift will show as open on the calendar:
  • If the site setting Acknowledgement Notification > Unconfirm on Acknowledge: Decline is set to Yes (Use Standard Cancel Period), and the person declines after the cutoff deadline, then they will remain assigned to the shift, and will receive an error message.
  • If the site setting Acknowledgement Notification > Unconfirm on Acknowledge: Decline is set to Yes, then the person will be unassigned from the shift, and the shift will show as open on the calendar:

How to accept a shift after having previously declined it

If the site setting "Members can Modify Acknowledgements after Accept/Decline:" is set to Yes, then people can accept a shift after previously declining it.

To change acknowledgement from declined to accepted, navigate to the calendar (Schedules > Shifts), then click on the shift that you (user) or someone on your team (manager) is assigned to that was previously declined:

On the Shift Details page, click Update Declined:

On the Acknowledge page, choose Accepted from the drop-down menu, and click Acknowledge:

The shift shows up on the calendar as assigned:


How did we do?


Powered by HelpDocs